Lost Frontier Episode 14 Review

Star Trek: Lost Frontier, Episode 14 Review
AKA: “But…I Thought They Brought Back Mak…”
 Let me emulate one of those MasterCard commercials for a moment,  here…

Coffee and Muffin at Overpriced School Cafe: $7.50

Expensive Textbook for Class You Really Don’t Want to Take: $150

Checking Facebook Before Your Long, Boring Psychology Lecture & Finding Out That A New Episode of ‘Lost Frontier’ Came Out And You Can’t Listen To It For At Least Three More Hours: Priceless

There are some things money can’t buy. For distractions during class, there’s Darker Projects.

 So, instead of paying attention to what I’m sure was an extremely important and fascinating lecture on the human mind or whatever that class is about, I was focusing on two things, and two things only:

1. How much time was left before I could bolt back to my dorm room and download the episode

and

2. How much the professor sounded like Eric Busby. (But that’s a story for another time.)

About halfway through the lecture, I realized that I needed to get my priorities straight. Why was I at college, anyway? To go to class and learn things, or to muck around on the Internet and listen to Darker Projects?

 Guess which one I picked.

 So, instead of working on my Math homework or studying Psychology, I give you my review of Star Trek: Lost Frontier 1×14 (or possibly 2×01?)

 I recently finished the first two seasons of The Section 31 Files, and I’m glad that I listened to that show first. As I’m sure I’ve mentioned before, S31 is a prequel to Lost Frontier, and Lost Frontier makes a lot more sense if it isn’t listened to first.

This episode in particular is a prime example of this; about half of the episode is a flashback.

Several characters from The Section 31 Files have popped up in the sequel: Emperor Korg, Judah Friese, and, of course, Takila Mak. It was revealed back in Episode 4 (I think) that the Nosferatu had been destroyed, along with several crew members, and it was said back in Episode 1 that Captain Dalonna was missing.

When the episode opens, the Enterprise is summoned by Korg, who urgently requests their aid. After learning of Mak’s death, Korg reveals that he has found his daughter, and that he needs help to rescue her. Fans of The Section 31 Files know who he’s talking about immediatly, but people who decided to skip S31 and go straight to Lost Frontier will probably assume, like the majority of the characters do, that Korg’s daughter is also a Klingon. Their mistake is soon corrected; Korg is speaking of his adopted daughter Dalonna, one of the missing Starfleet captains.

That’s just the first half of the episode; the rest is comprised of backstory. The fate of the Nosferatu, the reason Dalonna and the survivng crewmembers parted ways, how and why Mak ended up on Korsava 4, and the genesis of the One True Federation and the civil war are only a few of the elements touched on in this episode.

The only thing that disappointed me about the latest installment to the show is that they didn’t bring Mak back. When I saw Mark Kalita’s name on the cast list for this episode, I was very, very happy. (In case you haven’t noticed, Mak is my favorite DP character. After Byron, of course…) Then I listened to it, and felt a little let down. No Mak. Just a flashback. Still, one of the writers of the show has said that as long as Lost Frontier is still running, there’s a chance that Mak might come back. Personally, I share Korg’s opinion: It is impossible that he’s actually dead. I just hope he doesn’t go all evil. Again.

That’s a petty little thing, however, and really no big deal in the scheme of things. (Did I really just type that? I can’t believe it…) This episode is great. I can’t tell whether it’s Season 1 Episode 14 or Season 2 Episode 1, though, but that doesn’t matter either. What matters is that Lost Frontier is back, Lost Frontier is awesome, and that just maybe…

…They’ll resurect Mak.

Again.

Check out Episode 14: The Valiant, Part 1 at: http://www.darkerprojects.com/lostfrontier.php#0113

Leave a Reply

