Update

EDIT: Haha, I got fired. New posts coming soon.

Ok, here’s the deal:

I recently got a job with an environmental protection group called Environment Minnesota, as part of their fundraising team. It’s a fun, challenging job, but it really eats up the day. I leave home at 10am, and I don’t get back until around 11pm, sometimes later. I have one other writing project apart from this blog, and both of them are going to have to briefly take a back burner so I can handle everything else that’s suddenly going on in my life.

For a variety of complicated reasons, I am no longer eligible for financial aid for college, and I need to work as much as I can and save up to hopefully go back to school in 2011. I’m going to try to work on the blog and write as many reviews as I can, but working a 10 hour day and still having to make room for all the necessary household chores and, of course, eating and sleeping, is really going to limit my window of writing opportunity. I have a couple reviews (Leviathan Chronicles, Gaia’s Voyages, The Byron Chronicles) that were in various stages of completion when I got the job. I’m working on those a little at a time whenever I have a few spare minutes, but there’s no way I can take on any new projects and remain sane.

The good news for those of you who enjoy reading this blog is that this job has a ridiculously high turnover rate. There were six of us in my training group. Of those six, only one person besides myself managed to last out the week and become a full-fledged staff member. The money is pretty good, though, so I’m going to keep it as long as I can. Still, the fact remains that my employment situation is very precarious. (Fun Fact: The average employee’s “lifespan” is 2 to 3 weeks.) Its very possible that I could be back doing the whole reviewing thing sometime this week. Or, I might make it until August. No one knows… but I’m going to try to finish and post the reviews I’ve been working on, so that we avoid the internet equivalent of dead air.

I do, however, want to assure everyone that I absolutely love writing these reviews, and I have no intention of giving it up any time soon… especially since “Leviathan Dances” is swiftly approaching it’s first birthday. (*sniffle* They grow up so fast…)

So, in short, Happy 4th of July / National Explosion Day / Annoy Your Neighbors Day / Blow Sh*T Up Day / Etc.

Regular programming will (hopefully) resume shortly.

-Sam

Leave a Reply

